Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11
Alpha Delta Gamma Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.055
Scope and Contents
This collection contains announcements, correspondence, programs, financial records, clippings, and bylaws for Alpha Delta Gamma, an honorary society for the Medieval and Renaissance Studies program at the College of William and Mary. Included in the accession are the bylaws for the organization; programs from the induction ceremonies; membership lists; a history of the organization at the College; and correspondence pertaining to the founding of the organization.
Dates:
1993-2012
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Alumni Band Organization Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 271
Scope and Contents
This collection contains a substantial record of the administrative aspects of the Alumni Band Organization (ABO). Although the bulk of the records are related to this aspect of the ABO, the records are incomplete in several areas. However, the organization is in the process of collecting their records for donation to the University Archives and these gaps will likely be filled in the future. The records of the group are exhaustive in regards to the newsletters published by the group....
Dates:
1986-2012; Majority of material found in 1986-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Maud Miller Buxton Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.187
Scope and Contents
Letters, legal and business documents, photographs and news clippings of Maud Miller Buxton and associated families of Miller, Buxton and Ditterick. Maud Miller was born in North Dakota and eventually moved to McMinnville, Oregon via Minnesota. Correspondence spans her early childhood through her marriage to Henry Thurston Buxton and Frank Ditterick. Most letters concern family news. Includes commencement invitations, marriage invitations and clippings of marriage announcements and...
Dates:
1891-1962; Majority of material found in 1891-1947
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
College Women's Club Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 19
Scope and Contents
This collection includes bylaws and constitution, minutes, financial records, clippings, correspondence, and other material related to the College Women's Club, a faculty organization at the College of William and Mary.
Dates:
1944-1992
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1745-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Grigsby-Galt Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881. The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates:
1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Frances G. Hoppin Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00121-Mss. Acc. 2007.108
Scope and Contents
The papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, which was one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary.Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the...
Dates:
1917-1918
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Harrison Smith Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.14
Scope and Contents
Papers of the donor's stepfather, William Harrison Smith, superintendent and postmaster at the island of Jamestown, Virginia. Mostly business correspondence with Ellen Bagby of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (A.P.V.A.) with reports, Elbert Cox of the National Park Service and Ellen Harvie Smith of the A.P.V.A. Includes monthly general reports, financial reports, salary lists, tax forms, soil report certificates, photographs, and newspaper clippings.
Dates:
1934-1966
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lloyd H. and Ruth Elizabeth Williams Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.21-2007.66-2015.146
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 1998.21: Papers, (bulk 1947-1959), of Lloyd Haynes Williams, photographer and journalist. The largest part of the collection is financial in nature. Includes newspaper clippings concerning Williams, including an obituary and editorial at his death. Includes papers of Mrs. E. E. Goodrich. Also includes notes on sailing, shipbuilding, fishing, oystering and crab industries. There are many notes concerning piracy and a manuscript by Williams called "Blackbeard's Account."...
Dates:
1917-2008 and undated; Majority of material found in 1947-1959
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Williamsburg Arts Council Scrapbook
Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.029
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, 1967-1974 of the Williamsburg Arts Council, consisting of programs, news clippings, photographs, financial records, fliers and correspondence.
Dates:
1967-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center